Please wait a minute...
Table of Content
16 April 2022, Volume 2 Issue 2
  
    Investment Firm's Top Managers’ Marketing Background's Influences upon Start-up Company‘s Performance — An Empirical Analysis based upon Chinese Start-ups
    Liu Ruhan, Li Xing, Wang Rui
    2022, 2(2):  1-23. 
    Abstract ( 283 )   PDF (12321KB) ( 306 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Prior research has shown that top managers' marketing background significantly affects firm performance.  Meanwhile ,firm performance is also impacted by external stakeholders such as equity investors.  In this way, will the marketing background of investment firm's top management teams ( TMTs) influence the performance of the start-ups being invested?  Based on a data set covering the information of investment firms and the start-ups being invested in China, this research explores the effect of investment firm’s TMTs’ marketing background on start-ups performance.  We find that the percentage of top managers with marketing background in investment firm's TMTs has a positive effect on the investment returns of the start-ups.  Furthermore, this effect is moderated by the industry and development stage of the start-ups.  Specifically, investment firm's TMTs' marketing background has a more pronounced positive effect on the start-ups in emerging industries than those in established industries.  The positive influence of investment firm's TMTs' marketing background is more prominent on start-ups in the A round, compared with start-ups after the B round.  Overall, this research not only broadens the relevant literature on marketing executives and entrepreneural management, but also provides instructions for investment firms, start-ups, and policymakers.
    What Makes me Look Greener — Effects of Packaging Characteristics of Environmental Friendly Products on Consumer's Green Purchase Intention
    Wu Shuilong, Jin Tiantian, Yuan Yongna, Hu Zuohao
    2022, 2(2):  24-40. 
    Abstract ( 491 )   PDF (12523KB) ( 637 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
     Packaging always plays a "silent" salesperson role in the sales process of products, especially environmental friendly products, the customer's first impression of product packaging often determines the evaluations of the extent of the greenness of the products.  Based on theories of processing fluency, this research argues that environmental friendly products' packaging characteristics (color, material and with/without environmental claim) will influence consumer's green purchase in­tention.  This research presents three studies that supported the hypotheses and explore how environmental friendly products' packaging characteristics influence consumer's purchase intention, including the mediating role of perceived green value and the moderating role of consumer's environmental cognition.  The experimental results show that changing the packaging charac­teristics of environmental friendly products can make consumers perceive higher green value, improving their green purchase intention.  Specifically, green color is better than red color, fiber material is better than plastic, and with green claims is bet­ter than without green claims.  Meanwhile, the consumer's environmental cognition also plays a significant moderating role.  When the consumer's environmental cognition is high, the impact of these packaging characteristics will be more obvious, but when the consumer's environmental cognition is low, the impact will be relatively weak or even vanish.  The research conclu­sions provides managerial instructions for package strategy of environmental friendly products in green marketing practice.
    Effect of the Red Color on Consumer Preference for Brand Image
    Pang Jun, Wang Yansu
    2022, 2(2):  41-61. 
    Abstract ( 463 )   PDF (13585KB) ( 638 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
    This research examines the effect of red in the consumption environment on consumer preference for brand image and its underlying mechanism.  Previous studies have shown that red decreases purchase intention.  However, through one preliminary experiment and four experiments, the authors find that red increases consumer preference for competent brands ( but not warm brands) , and competitive spirit plays a mediating role in this effect.  More specifically, red (vs. other colors) activates the concept of dominance, bringing about a desire for dominant status and hence a stronger competitive spirit.  Individuals with a stronger competitive spirit are more eager to express their competence rather than sincerity.  Therefore, they prefer competent brands over brands with sincerity.  This effect will be weakened when consumers make purchases for others ( vs. for themselves) .  Our findings contribute to the relevant literature on brand image preferences, color and competitive spirit, and provide important practical instructions on color selection and design in marketing communication.
    The Research on Advertising Effect of Writing Direction and Product Facing Direction —An Empirical Analysis Based on Eye-Tracking Experiments
    Xi Yue, Jiang Yushi, Wang Yedi, Miao Miao
    2022, 2(2):  62-82. 
    Abstract ( 161 )   PDF (13409KB) ( 282 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
    The matching of writing direction and product facing direction in advertising can affect the persuasive effect of advertising  and consumers' attentions. Based on knowledge activation theory and matching theory, three eye-tracking experiments with 280 participants were conducted to investigate the effects of text writing direction and product facing direction on advertising effect.  In experiment 1, we found an interaction between the writing direction and the product facing direction.  The persuasion and attention effects were better when the vertical writing direction matched the left-facing product or the horizontal writing direction matched the right-facing product.  Experiments 2 and experiment 3 found that brand or product positioning further interacted with the matching effect above.  Traditional brand or product ads perfbnn better when texts are written vertically with the product facing left, while modem brand or product ads perform better when the texts are written horizontally with the product facing right.  Three experiments confirmed the mediating role of sense - correctness.  The triple interaction between text writing direction, product facing direction, and brand or product positioning provides guidances for the theoretical system of advertising effect and enterprise practices.
    To Friends or to Strangers ?  Impact of Network Structure on Tipping Behaviorsin User-generated Live Streaming
    Wu Banggang, Deng Xiaoyu, Jin Fei, Jia Sixue
    2022, 2(2):  83-101. 
    Abstract ( 247 )   PDF (11214KB) ( 387 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
    With the rapid development of live streaming industry, live streaming firms try to increase performance by forming users’ payment habits through social network.  This paper collected the live streaming data of nearly 30, 000 users in an online music community.  Based on social presence theory, we tested the impact of the number of strong ties on user's gift-giving decision in user-generated live streaming.  Besides, we studied the moderating effect of audience scale, network centrality of tippers and levels of tipped broadcasters.  When a user engaged in a live streaming, the results show that, ( 1) the number of strong ties has a positive effect on tipping to friends; (2) the increase of the size of live streaming weakens the above effect; (3) when the user has a relatively higher social centrality, the main effect becomes lower; (4) The main effect is more pronounced when the levels of tipped broadcasters become higher.  Overall, this research has significant implications for firms' strategies to facilitate live streaming and achieve competitive advantages.
    The Evolution of Brand Positioning and Communication Strategy of Internet App —A Case Study on Youdao
    Yu Chunling, Zhang Shuo, Li Zequn, Bao Chenbo
    2022, 2(2):  102-118. 
    Abstract ( 235 )   PDF (11205KB) ( 318 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
    It is essential for enterprises to adjust brand positioning according to the changes of target customers for sustainable development. The growth of instrumental internet products (internet Apps) presents obvious stages.  From providing free tools (to generate more traffic) to becoming a platfbnn, the connotation of instrumental internet products has changed explicitly. Exploring the growth stages and positioning of internet applications in different stages could help us understand the evolution characteristics of internet App brand positioning and provide inspirations for such enterprises to actively adjust brand positioning for sustainable growth. In addition, this paper explores how internet App brands ( bom and developed in the social media context) apply communication strategies to establish brand positioning, which provides a useful reference for enterprises to improve the efficiency of applying social media.  This research was based on the analysis of brand management practice of Youdao dictionary in 2007-2020.  Finally, this study have the following findings: (1) the internet App brand positioning should actively evolve with different stages of enterprise development.  Specifically, the initial period, the developing period and the extension period are suitable for adopting functional positioning, symbolic positioning and emotional positioning respectively and aiming at core customers, peripheral customers and extensive customers respectively to estahlish a brand image in line with the objectives of the brand stage to realize the development path of "tool-content/community-platform" ;  (2) enterprises should set up appropriate communication goals according to different stages of brand positioning, select and match communication tools with the guidance of communication objectives in the social media context, and evaluate communication effects based on communication objectives.  These findings contribute to the adjustment of brand positioning to achieve long-term development and the improvement of social media communication efficiency for the internet Apps.
    Close Shot or Panorama ?  The Influence of Interaction between Advertising Scene Presentation and Product Type on Purchase Intention
    Miao Miao, Wang Ya, Li Jiang, Jiang Yushi
    2022, 2(2):  119-139. 
    Abstract ( 237 )   PDF (15759KB) ( 288 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
    With the advent of the era of "digital economy" , enterprises are more and more willing to invest in advertising in order to further attract consumers' attentions and enhance market share.  How to stimulate consumers' positive purchase  intentions through advertising design? —this is particularly important for brands.  Therefore, based on the construal level theory and from the perspective of information processing fluency, this study explores the influence of the interaction between advertising scene presentation and product type on consumers' purchase intention.  The results show that, for utilitarian products, when they are presented with close shot advertising, it is easier for consumers to generate purchase intention than panorama shot advertising ; for hedonic products, when they are presented with panorama shot advertising, it is easier for consumers to generate purchase intention than close shot advertising.  In addition, the way of advertising appeal has a significant moderating effect. The specific performance is as follows: compared with the prototype appeal, the exemplary appeal used in the close shot advertising of utilitarian products can make consumers' purchase intentions more positive ; compared with the exemplary appeal, the prototype appeal used in the panorama shot advertising of hedonic products can make consumers' purchase intentions more positive.  This study broadens the application of construal level theory in the field of marketing, and the research conclusions have strong practical guiding values for brand designers to creatively design advertising and make advertising strategies.
    Research on the Influence Mechanism of Regional Cultural Distinctiveness  on Sojourners' Self-brand Connection
    Jin Cai, Li Yanjun, Li Linzhu, Bao Yuze
    2022, 2(2):  140-156. 
    Abstract ( 140 )   PDF (11162KB) ( 158 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Based on the realistic background of the increasing floating population, this study takes the agricultural regional public brand as an example to explore whether and how the regional cultural distinctiveness perceived by sojourners affect the brand of the residence negatively, and what is the possible mechanism to reduce this negative impact.  The experimental data from Zhijiang and Chongqing show that when participants perceive a great regional cultural distinctiveness, their self-brand connection with the agricultural regional public brand in the residence will be reduced, comparing with those who perceive little regional cultural distinctiveness.  This effect is achieved through group identity. The greater the distinctiveness of regional culture perceived by the sojourners, the lower their senses of group identity to the local people will be, and the weaker their self-brand connection with the brand of the residence will be.  However, the social acceptance of the sojourners can adjust the influence of regional cultural distinctiveness on sojourners’ self-brand connection of agricultural regional public brand.  Under the circumstance that social acceptance exists, the negative effect of regional cultural distinctiveness on self-brand connection with the agricultural regional public brand is weakened.

Please wait a minute...
本期目录
2022年 第2卷 第2期 刊出日期:2022-04-16
  
    投资机构高管的营销背景对企业绩效的影响 ——基于中国初创企业的实证分析
    刘汝晗、厉行、王锐
    营销科学学报. 2022, 2(2):  1-23. 
    摘要 ( 108 )   PDF (12321KB) ( 96 )  
    相关文章 | 多维度评价
    以往的研究发现,企业内部高管的营销背景对企业绩效有着显著的影响,同时,企业的绩效还会受股权投资者等企业外部的治理机构的影响。 那么,这些投资机构高管团队的营销背景是否也影响着所投企业的绩效? 本文基于中国风险投资机构及其所投企业的相关数据,探索了投资机构高管团队的营销背景对所投企业绩效的影响。 我们发现,投资机构高管团队中有营销背景的高管占比正向影响所投企业的投资回报率,并且,该影响受被投企业所处的行业和发展阶段特征调节。 具体来说,相比处于传统行业的企业,投资机构高管团队的营销背景对处于新兴行业的企业绩效的积极影响更为突出;相比处于B轮后的企业,投资机构高管团队的营销背景对处于A轮的企业的绩效具有更为显著的积极影响。 本文不仅扩展了营销高管与创业管理等方面的相关文献,也为投资机构、初创企业、政策制定者等利益相关方提供了启示。
    什么使我看起来更绿——环保产品的包装特征对消费者绿色购买意向的影响
    吴水龙, 金甜甜, 袁永娜, 胡左浩
    营销科学学报. 2022, 2(2):  24-40. 
    摘要 ( 131 )   PDF (12523KB) ( 252 )  
    相关文章 | 多维度评价
    包装作为消费者最先接触到的产品的部分,在产品销售中一直充当着无声售货员的角色。 尤其在对环保产品的购买过程中,消费者对产品包装的第一印象会对其对产品的“绿色”程度的判断产生较大的影响。 本文基于信息加工流畅性理论,通过三组实验探究了环保产品的包装特征(颜色、材质和有无环保声明)对消费者绿色购买意向的影响,以及在这一影响过程中绿色感知价值的中介作用和消费者环境认知的调节作用。 实验结果表明,环保产品的包装特征会对消费者感知到的产品的绿色价值和购买意向产生显著影响。具体而言,绿色包装比红色包装、纤维包装比塑料包装、有环保声明的包装比无环保声明的包装更能使消费者感知到产品具有较高的绿色价值,从而产生较高的绿色购买意向。 在这个过程中,消费者的环境认知会起到显著的调节作用。 当消费者的环境认知较高时,这些包装特征的影响会更加明显;但是当消费者的环境认知较低时,这种影响会相对较弱甚至不存在。本研究结论对环保产品包装策略的绿色营销实践具有启示作用。
    红色对消费者品牌形象偏好的影响
    庞隽, 王妍苏
    营销科学学报. 2022, 2(2):  41-61. 
    摘要 ( 108 )   PDF (13585KB) ( 222 )  
    相关文章 | 多维度评价
    本文探讨了消费环境中的红色对消费者品牌形象偏好的影响及其心理机制。 以往的研究指出,红色会降低消费者的购买意愿。 然而,作者通过一个预实验和四个主实验发现红色会提高消费者对能力型品牌(而非诚意型品牌)的偏好,竞争意识在该影响过程中起中介作用。 具体而言,红色(与其他颜色相比)更容易激活主导概念,导致个体为了追求主导地位而表现出更强烈的竞争意识。 高竞争意识的个体更加渴望展现自己的能力而非诚意,从而更偏好能力型品牌而非诚意型品牌。 这一效应在消费者为他人(而非自己)购买的情境下有所减弱。 这些研究发现丰富了现有关于品牌形象偏好、颜色和竞争意识的文献,并对营销传播中颜色的选用和设计具有重要的实践指导意义。
    文字书写方向和产品朝向的广告效果研究 ——基于眼动实验的实证分析
    席悦, 蒋玉石, 王烨娣, 苗苗
    营销科学学报. 2022, 2(2):  62-82. 
    摘要 ( 47 )   PDF (13409KB) ( 38 )  
    相关文章 | 多维度评价
    广告中的文字书写方向和产品朝向二者的匹配可以影响广告的说服效果和注意效果。 本文基于知识激活理论和匹配性理论,通过三个眼动实验(一共有280名有效被试),探讨了广告中的文字书写方向和产品朝向对广告效果的影响。 实验一发现,广告中的文字书写方向和产品朝向存在交互作用;当广告中的垂直方向书写的文字与朝左的产品匹配时,或广告中的水平方向书写的文字与朝右的产品匹配时,能产生更好的说服效果和注意效果。 实验二、实验三发现,品牌或产品的定位对上述匹配效应有进一步的交互作用;当广告中的垂直方向书写的文字和朝左的产品匹配时,传统品牌或产品的广告会有更好的广告效果;而当广告中的水平方向书写的文字和朝右的产品匹配时,现代品牌或产品的广告会有更好的广告效果。 三个实验都验证了感觉正确的中介作用。 文字书写方向、产品朝向和品牌或产品定位的三重交互效应对于完善广告效果理论体系以及企业实践活动,提供了指导意义。
    打赏给朋友还是陌生人——用户生成直播中的网络结构对打赏对象的影响
    吴邦刚, 邓晓羽, 靳菲, 贾思雪
    营销科学学报. 2022, 2(2):  83-101. 
    摘要 ( 69 )   PDF (11214KB) ( 57 )  
    相关文章 | 多维度评价
    随着 我国在线直播行业的快速发展,直播企业正在通过社会网络探索培养用户付费习惯和提高企业绩效的方式。 本文以某在线音乐社区中近3万用户的直播数据为例,基于社会临场感理论,分析用户生成直播模式下,直播间内强关系数量对用户选择打赏对象的影响,并在此基础上分析直播中的直播间内观众规模、打赏者的网络中心性和被打赏者的级别对以上影响的调节作用。 研究结果发现:(1)用户在参与在线唱歌直播时,直播间内强关系的数量对用户选择打赏给朋友有显著的正向影响;(2)随着直播间规模的扩大,直播间内强关系数量对用户选择给朋友打赏的正向影响有所减弱;(3)相比网络中心度低的打赏用户,网络中心度越高的用户,直播间中强关系数量对其选择给朋友打赏的正向影响越小;(4)当主播级别越高,直播间中用户的强关系数量越多,用户越有可能给朋友打赏。 本文研究了用户的社会网络结构对其选择打赏对象的影响,既丰富了直播相关的理论文献,也拓展了社会网络理论的应用,本文的结论对于直播企业的实践也有重要的指导意义。
    互联网App品牌定位演化及沟通策略——网易有道案例研究
    于春玲, 张硕, 李泽群, 鲍晨波
    营销科学学报. 2022, 2(2):  102-118. 
    摘要 ( 57 )   PDF (11205KB) ( 122 )  
    相关文章 | 多维度评价
    根据目标顾客的变化调整品牌定位对于企业的可持续发展至关重要。 工具类互联网产品(互联网App)的发展呈现明显的阶段性,从提供免费工具(以获取流量)到成为平台,工具类互联网产品的内涵发生了清晰的变化。 探究互联网App的成长阶段和各阶段的品牌定位策略,可以帮助我们理解互联网App品牌的定位的演化特点,为企业主动调整该类产品的品牌定位,实现产品的可持续发展提供启发。 同时,探究诞生并发展于社交媒体情境的互联网App品牌如何运用沟通策略建立品牌定位,为提升企业运用社交媒体的效率提供有益参考。本文以网易有道为研究对象,对其在2007-2020年期间的品牌管理实践进行案例研究。 研究发现:(1)企业应视产品的不同发展阶段主动调整互联网App品牌定位:初创期、发展期和延展期分别适合采用功能型、象征型和情感型定位,对应地针对核心顾客、外围顾客和广泛顾客建立符合品牌阶段目标的品牌形象,实现“工具一内容/社区一平台”的发展路径。(2)社交媒体情境下的沟通策略应充分服务于品牌阶段目标,据此规划各阶段的沟通目标选择沟通媒介和评估沟通效果。企业尤其需要熟悉并善于利用自有媒体和免费媒体,营造高效低成本的全场景沉浸式沟通环境,实现品牌定位目标。 这些研究发现对互联网App通过主动调整品牌定位实现长期发展,及提升社交媒体沟通效率有借鉴意义。
    近景VS.全景——广告景别呈现方式与产品类型 对购买意愿的交互影响研究
    苗苗, 王娅, 李江, 蒋玉石
    营销科学学报. 2022, 2(2):  119-139. 
    摘要 ( 65 )   PDF (15759KB) ( 50 )  
    相关文章 | 多维度评价
    随着数字经济时代的到来,企业为了进一步吸引消费者眼球、提高市场占有率,在广告上的投入意愿也越来越强烈。 如何通过广吿设计刺激消费者产生积极的购买意愿,对品牌商而言尤为重要。由此,本研究基于解释水平理论,从信息加工流畅性视角出发,探究广告景别呈现方式与产品类型对消费者购买意愿的交互影响。 实验结果表明:对于实用型产品而言,当其采用近景系列广吿呈现时,比采用全景系列广告呈现更容易促使消费者产生购买意愿;对于享乐型产品而言,当其采用全景系列广告呈现时,比采用近景系列广告呈现更容易促使消费者产生购买意愿。此外,广告诉求方式在以上影响过程中具有显著的调节作用。 具体表现为:相较于原型性诉求,实用型产品的近景系列广告采用范例性诉求能使消费者的购买意愿更为积极;相较于范例性诉求,享乐型产品的全景系列广告采用原型性诉求能使消费者的购买意愿更为积极。 本研究拓展了解释水平理论在营销领域中的应用,研究结论对品牌商设计广告创意、制定广告策略等都具有较强的实践指导价值。
    地域文化差异对旅居者自我-品牌联结影响机理研究
    金彩, 李艳军, 李林竹, 包玉泽
    营销科学学报. 2022, 2(2):  140-156. 
    摘要 ( 42 )   PDF (11162KB) ( 46 )  
    相关文章 | 多维度评价
    基于流动人口数量日益庞大的现实背景,本研究以农产品区域公共品牌为例,探讨了当旅居者在旅居地感受到地域文化差异时,这种差异对旅居地的品牌是否以及如何产生消极影响?消减这一负面影响的可能机制是什么? 来自枝江和重庆的消费者实验数据表明:相对于感知地域文化差异小的被试,感知地域文化差异大的被试对旅居地农产品区域公共品牌的自我-品牌联结会降低。 这一影响是通过群体认同实现的,即感知地域文化差异大,会降低消费者对旅居地当地居民的群体认同,继而减弱消费者对旅居地农产品区域公共品牌的自我-品牌联结。但旅居地对旅居者的社会接纳可以调节地域文化差异对农产品区域公共品牌的自我-品牌联结的影响。在存在社会接纳的情况下,地域文化差异对农产品区域公共品牌的自我-品牌联结的负面作用被减弱。